skip navigation

NCAA Ice Hockey Tournament features 24 former RoughRiders

By RoughRiders Staff, 03/22/21, 10:15AM CDT


It's March Madness and the NCAA Division I Ice Hockey Championship Bracket has been announced


16 teams will compete to get to the Frozen Four. The regional tournament rounds begin on March 26th and will conclude on March 28th. The Frozen Four semifinals are on April 8th and the championship will be awarded on April 10th in Pittsburgh, PA. 


There are 24 Cedar Rapids RoughRiders alumni participating in the tournament on 14 different teams. Here's a look at all the players:

Player School Year @ School Year(s) with CR
Justin Cole American International Redshirt Junior 2015-2017
Brendan Harris Bemidji State Senior 2014-2015
Kyle Looft Bemidji State Sophomore 2017-2018
Nicholas Cardelli Bemidji State Junior 2017-2018
Tyler Jubenvill Bemidji State Junior 2017-2018
Will Zmolek Bemidji State Sophomore 2017-2019
Marc McLaughlin Boston College Junior 2016-2018
Harrison Roy Boston College Freshman 2017-2019
Spencer DenBeste Lake Superior State Freshman 2017-2018
Jerry Harding Massachusetts Sophomore 2018-2019
Nicholas Granowicz Michigan Sophomore 2017-2018
Luke Morgan Michigan Senior 2015-2016
Matt Denman Minnesota Junior 2017-2018
Nathan Smith Minnesota State Sophomore 2017-2019
Riese Zmolek Minnesota State Senior 2015-2017
Ben Almquist Minnesota-Duluth Sophomore 2016-2017
Darian Gotz Minnesota-Duluth Freshman 2018-2020
Harrison Feeney North Dakota Sophomore 2016-2017
Graham Slaggert Notre Dame Junior 2017-2018
Grant Sillianoff Notre Dame Freshman 2018-2020
Joey Molenaar  St Cloud State Freshman 2019-2020
Trevor Zins St Cloud State Sophomore 2015-2017
Roman Ahcan Wisconsin Junior 2017-2018
Joshua Ess Wisconsin Senior 2016-2017


Travis Winter, former RoughRiders assistant coach (2009-2013), is now an assistant coach at Bemidji State. Best of luck to all former RoughRiders!!

Message us on Instagram, Facebook, or Twitter who you have winning it all in College Hockey in 2021!